Re-discovering Self. Motivation thru Life, Music and Art

Act like a lady… Damn it!

Okay. At times I’m not the most ladylike. ( Lightening flashes! Crowds of people gasp in disbelief!) Hard to believe I know, but… Yes, it’s true. It has been heavily on my mind for quite some time now. And though I attempt to rid my behavior of those not so favorable “quirks” of mine; they tend to sneak back in when I’m not mindful. Now I’m not saying that I’m the worst, or not ladylike at all! But, I am admitting that there are some things that I could do a bit better on. Simply put, time for a little refining and fine tuning. One bad habit of mine that I thought was cool as a kid, but now I totally “hate” is speaking in HOMEBOY LINGO.  OMG!!! I am such a victim of this terrible thing! Growing up “hip hop”, I was quite the B-Girl and tomboy. I had more than a handful of homeboys throughout high school. Many of whom I am still great friends with to this day! I feel fortunate to have such long standing friendships, but when I speak to them, my homegirl button is instantly pushed! Then, I immediately transform into heavy slang mode. And, I mean HEAAAAVY! I have so much in common with my homeboys; music, sports, etc.. So, one phone conversation with them really does a job on my etiquitte. I try to stay aware of it, but still fail miserably each time one of them call. If a man I was interested in were to hear me speak this  way, I would be totally embarrassed. Big No-No! Also, lately I’ve been trying to pump the breaks literally on my little “Road” issues too. Which is terribly hard to do here in NY, where everyone drives like… om… well… JERKS! Consideration for the fellow driver is at 0% here. I mean it’s every man/woman for his/herself! I’ve been cut off, tailgated, flipped off, damn near side swiped or rear-ended. I’ve even had my parking spaces stolen as I was parking! Driving in this city is NOT for wimps, and I think that maybe i’ve adapted a little too well. I can really hang with the best… well, worst of ’em. And often resorts to my share of cussing fussing and then some. I’m composed for the most part but, have really lost it at times too. After a few episodes a couple weeks back, that ended with me hurling an bright orange caution cone, and throwing spring water bottle at a mouthy inconsiderate driver… I began to feel  that I could use a little fine tuning in this area as well. Not saying that I’m about to be a “Road Wimp”, just saying that I will think about my being a lady a tad bit more before I react to someone else’s stupidity. So for the next few weeks my friends, I am vowing myself to be more delicate and mindful of my words and actions. I know the me that I like being, so I will try to stay focused on that. In the meantime, I looked up a few articles on “Becoming more ladylike” and ran across a couple good ones (see links below). If you think that you too could use a little refinement in the feminine department, please join me on this journey. 🙂 It can only enhance who you already are. Here’s the links: *NO MORE CURSING! Check out this little thought on being a potty mouth *HOW TO BECOME MORE LADYLIKE. This was a well written little article that quickly covered the basics of being a lady. And this one too… A lady is a full-time JOB! COMMENT, And let me know what you think! With Etiquette, Indeed

2 responses

  1. vonetta t. rhodes

    PEACE SIS. INDEED! IFOUND OUT THE HARD WAY THAT REAL LADIES DON’T ACT. THE REAL TASK IS TO EMBRACE THE NATURAL QUEEN THE CREATOR MADE YOU AND LET THAT RISE TO THE FULLEST. I GREW TIRED OF TRYINGTO FIT IN SKIRTS THAT WERE NOT MADE FOR ME. I ALSO REALIZE THAT I COULD NOT FIT MY SIZE 12 FEET INTO A SIZE 8 SHOE…THAT WOULD BE PAINFULLY UNREALISTIC AND CRAMPED. THE SAME GOES FOR MY INTEGRITY. I WOULD METAMORPHISIZE FOR MEN, JOBS, PEOPLE SO MUCH, THAT I FELT CRAMPED AND CLAUSTROPHOBIC. BREATHE MY QUEEN…YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL JUST THE WAY YOU ARE. BESIDES…OUR HOOD WAS KINDA RUFF IN BUF, WE COULD GET SCRAPPY IF WE HAD TO. I ALWAYS LOVED THAT ABOUT YOU ANYWAY. PEACE AND LOVE HIP HOP WARRIOR QUEEN!!!

    April 16, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    • Thanks Netta! I “Getting scrappy if we had to”! LOL. I Love that! Yes, the hood did give us that extra little “umph!” I’ll call it. 🙂 I know what you mean about trying to conform to so many things embodied in that complex definition of being a “lady”. I’m just trying to cultivate, and refine myself to the likes of those lovely ladies we grew up watching… our moms. I can still remember the grace and beauty your mom had growing up. The strength and determination of my mother too. They were beautiful, classy women, as are we. I’m sure they could “get scrappy if they had to” too, lol. But we would never know. So these days, I’m reminding myself to be that at all times. It’s hard girl (especially in traffic)… But well worth it. 🙂 Thanks for supporting me as always. My best-est, oldest (in years known) and most adorable childhood friend. I love you.

      April 16, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Leave a comment